Punk rock parrot how an illustrator makes a character

Illustrators are often found creating strange characters. This is one i am working on now.

He is based on a personal friend who is an avid almost cartoon styled punk. I wanted to use pattern and block colour to give a striking effect. So i chose to depict my friend as a parrot, these creatures are loud and noisy, which suits the punk ethos, their feathers make a great pattern to style for my perpouses.
I had to maintain the personality of my friend so i needed to have a quiet potential! He has an inner still quality and a naughty sense of humour.

These are some of the things that strike my thoughts whilst designing a character.

IMG_0351.JPG

I hope to Finnish him soon!

Leave a Reply

